AQF Certificate IV in General Insurance

The AQF (Australian Qualifications Framework) Certificate IV in General Insurance FNS41420 is designed for insurance professionals with up to one year of experience working in small or large insurance businesses with retail and/or commercial clients.

General Insurance
Attain Associate Membership Level

Each unit aims to develop specific technical, analytical and interpersonal knowledge and skills required to: 

  • effectively provide support in handling and investigating customer insurance claims
  • prepare and maintain relevant documentation
  • answer customer inquiries.

On completion, students will also have developed:

  • solid workplace relationship-building and communication skills
  • a good understanding of the general insurance industry and the General Insurance Code of Practice.

Insurance professionals can focus on specific areas they wish to develop by taking units as standalone short courses — or, if desired, units can be combined to attain the full Certificate IV in General Insurance.

ANZIIF Insurance Qualification

‘The training has really aided me in my role as a claims examiner. I was able to apply what I was learning into my job straight away and I found that my existing job skills enhanced my learning experience.’ 

- Bianca Parussolo, Claims Team Leader (Australia)


'Since completing the Certificate IV in General Insurance with ANZIIF, I've become more confident and efficient in my role, and believe the skills and knowledge acquired have contributed to my success as an Underwriter.'

- Crystal O'Keefe, Senior Underwriter (Australia)

Financial Services Training Package (FNS20) Update

As a result of the FNS20 training package update, ANZIIF is required to update its qualifications from 3 November 2021. Continuing students who commenced studies from April 2016, or new students who are commencing studies before November 2021, should refer to this document for your pathway.  

Download the FNS20 Transition Pathway

Course Structure

To be awarded the Certificate IV, students must complete THREE compulsory units, SEVEN elective units, and TWO units from Other units. 


Explore Skills Units