New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards

The New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards unites all sectors of insurance for a celebration acknowledging the accomplishments of individuals, businesses and discovering new talent across the New Zealand insurance industry.

Wednesday, 30 November 2022

7:00pm - 11:00pm NZST

Cordis, Auckland
Honor Roll

In 2022, the Awards provide a platform for us to recognise how our industry has continued to support the customer, community, and its people, and the extraordinary achievements that have helped our industry grow and flourish.

With 15 categories to choose from, there is an opportunity for a wide range of industry sectors to be represented and recognised as the insurance ecosystem grows.

This year sees the introduction of four new categories:

  • Excellence in Environmental, Social and Governance Change — this award recognises an outstanding organisation who deals with how environmental, social, and governance (ESG) issues affect its business's strategies and practices.
  • General Insurance Claims Team of the Year — this award recognises a claims team that has demonstrated excellent technical skills, strong claims results and outstanding customer service during 2021
  • Insurtech Start-up of the Year - this award recognises an innovative technology company that enhances, extends or replaces a traditional approach to servicing insurance customers’ needs. 
  • Authorised Representative Network of the Year - this award recognises an outstanding broking company that generates 80% or more of their premium income from an Authorised Representative (AR) model and shows exceptional service for their AR's and customers.

The Awards are decided by an esteemed panel of industry Judges who read and score each submission individually and vote under the supervision of an independent auditor.

For further information please contact Rachel Magill, Team Leader, Events. 

Watch this short message from ANZIIF CEO, Prue Willsford

Submission Guidelines and Tips

Watch the 2021 awards movie 


View the 2021 Awards book to learn more about the winners  


Entering the annual New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards is a great way to showcase how you have supported the customer, community, and your people over the last year.

They also provide an opportunity to gain recognition for your successes and promote your business to staff and customers. Browse the categories and criteria below.

Submissions close at 11:59pm NZST on 18th July.

For further information please contact Rachel Magill, Team Leader, Events.

We recognise and understand the sensitive nature of the information provided in your submission. With this in mind, there are systems in place to ensure confidentiality at every stage of the judging process.

Judges are bound by confidentiality agreements and recuse themselves when a potential conflict arises. At no time are Judges who have identified a conflict allowed to read or deliberate on a submission. The Judging Panel is overseen by a Presiding Judge and an external auditor is present at the Judging Day when the judges convene. For further information on the judging process please click here.
Thank you to our sponsors for the 2022 New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards.

Are you interested in sponsorship opportunities for this event? For more information on how your organisation can benefit as a sponsor of this leading professional development event contact Sara Cheong, Sponsorship Executive by phone on +61 3 9613 7200 or by email at [email protected].



Celebrating all the winners of the New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards since the inaugural event held in 2012.

Winners of the 2021 New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards

Categories 2021 Winners
Large Broking Company of the Year Insurance Advisernet New Zealand
Underwriting Agency of the Year Delta Insurance Group

General Insurance Company of the Year

Sponsored by:


JB-HI FI Solutions logo


AA Insurance
Life Insurance Company of the Year Asteron Life

Innovation of the Year

Sponsored by:


Manheim logo


Gallagher Bassett
Professional Services Firm of the Year McLarens
Service Provider to the Insurance Industry CoreLogic NZ

Excellence in Workplace Diversity and Inclusion

Suncorp New Zealand
Insurance Learning Program of the Year AA Insurance

Young Insurance Professional of the Year

Sponsored by:


NZI logo


Stephen Cantwell, FMG

Broking Professional of the Year

Sponsored by:


Vero logo

Faith Owens

Insurance Leader of the Year

Sponsored by:


DLA Piper logo


Jimmy Higgins, Sid Miller, Campbell Mitchell & Blair Williams (joint winners)

ANZIIF Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by:


Asteron Life logo

Doune Connett

Past Winners