From its start in 1884 as the Victorian Insurance Institute and New South Wales Insurance Institute, the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance has grown into an international member organisation with operations across the Asia-Pacific region and members in 50 countries. 

  • 1884 Victorian Insurance Institute formed
  • 1884 New South Wales Insurance Institute formed
  • 1911 Western Australia Insurance Institute formed
  • 1913 South Australia Insurance Institute formed
  • 1919 State institutions federalise to form the Incorporated Australian Insurance Institute (IAII)
  • 1920 Insurance Officers Guild of New Zealand formed
  • 1933 Faculty of Insurance formed in New Zealand
  • 1937 Insurance Institute of New Zealand (IINZ) formed when Insurance Officers Guild and Faculty of Insurance merge
  • 1960 'Incorporated' dropped from Australian Institute's name to become the Australian Insurance Institute (AII)
  • 1997 Joan Fitzpatrick appointed CEO of Australian Insurance Institute
  • 2000 AII and IINZ members vote to merge the two associations and become the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance (ANZIIF)
  • 2001 State offices centralise to Melbourne
  • 2006 ANZIIF celebrates five years as the leading provider of insurance and financial services education, training and professional services in Australia, New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific
  • 2012 Shanghai office opens
  • 2013 Prue Willsford appointed as CEO
  • 2014 ANZIIF celebrates its 130th Birthday.

130 Years