New Zealand students should contact Customer Service on 0800 103 675 or email [email protected] to enrol.

AQF Certificate IV in Life Insurance

The Certificate IV in Life Insurance is designed for employees starting out in life insurance. It provides the technical knowledge and skills needed to provide quality services to clients.

This qualification is made up of Skills Units which are mapped to the Australian Qualifications Framework and is contextualised for the Australian market.

Life and Retirement Income
Attain Associate Membership Level

For 18 months, ANZIIF collaborated with Australia's life insurance industry to establish an industry-wide Professional Standards Framework (view the media release). As a result of this work, significant changes were made to the Certificate IV in Life Insurance (FNS41515)

The changes were endorsed by the Department of Education Skill and Employment in August 2021. ANZIIF's updated Certificate IV in Life Insurance, which reflects the new industry requirements, is now available for enrolment.

Each unit aims to develop specific technical, analytical and interpersonal knowledge and skills required to:

  • apply specialist knowledge of life insurance products and services
  • exercise judgement in completing routine and non-routine processing of life insurance policies and claims
  • underwrite risks in life insurance policies
  • apply solutions to a defined range of life insurance problems 
  • analyse and evaluate information from a variety of sources.

On completion, students will also have developed:

  • A good understanding of professional practices, and codes and standards of ethical practice

Financial Services Training Package (FNS20) Update

As a result of the FNS20 training package update in 2020, ANZIIF is required to update its qualifications from 26 January 2023. Students who commenced studies from 2016 under the FNS15 training package (module code ends in ‘-15’) should refer to the document below for your pathway.

New students commencing studies under the 5-week Skills Units do not need to reference the PDF and should follow the prescribed Course Structure below.

Download the FNS20 Transition Pathway

Course Structure

To be awarded the Certificate IV, students must complete FOUR compulsory units plus:

  • SIX elective units - choose from Electives.

It is suggested that each unit will encompass 20-25 hours of study time.

Pre-requisites - see Life Insurance Professional Standards, below

Life Insurance Professional Standards

Completion of the following four units will also satisfy the Life Insurance Professional Standards; the Foundation Requirement for all Life Insurance claims and underwriting professionals: LI20004-20 Apply codes of ethical practice, LI20005-20 Deliver professional life insurance services, LI20006-20 Understand life insurance products and policies and LI20003-20 Contribute to the sustainability of the Life insurance industry.

Explore Skills Units