2012 Winners Australia and New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards

The Australian Insurance Industry Awards recognised and honoured the industry’s best companies and individuals in front of a record audience of 840 insurance industry leaders at the Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre tonight.

Now in its ninth year, the Awards, hosted by the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance (the Institute) and founding partner Asia Insurance Review (AIR), recognise outstanding achievement in the Australian insurance marketplace.

Institute CEO, Joan Fitzpatrick congratulated the winners of this year's awards for their success against a strong field.

“The Australian Insurance Award winners this year demonstrated great achievement and best fulfilled the spirit of each award category,” Ms Fitzpatrick said.

“The growing participation in both the Awards process and this annual event demonstrates the importance we rightly place on rewarding, celebrating and commending great performance,” she said.

The winners of the 2012 Australian Insurance Industry Awards are:

Large General Insurance Company of the Year – Allianz Australia

Small/Medium General Insurance Company of the Year – RAA Insurance

Broker of the Year (Small) - Simplex Insurance Solutions

Broker of the Year (Medium) - InterRisk

Broker of the Year (Large) - Aon

Law Firm/Practitioner of the Year - HWL Ebsworth Lawyers

Life Insurance Company of the Year - AIA

Claims Service Provider of the Year - Suncorp

Underwriting Agency of the Year - Brooklyn Underwriting

Service Provider to the Insurance Industry - JB Hi-Fi

Innovation of the Year - Budget Direct Hail Hero

Reinsurance Company of the Year - RGA

Insurance Leader of the Year - Patrick Snowball

ANZIIF Lifetime Achievement Award - Dr Allan Manning

Sivam Subramaniam, editor-in-chief of AIR, agreed, saying that the Awards are supported by the industry’s commitment to excellence.

"The Awards’ popularity and prestige has been driven by the active dedication of the industry to achieve and reward excellence. I would like to congratulate the winners, as well as the strong field of contenders, and of course the members of the Judging Panel for their unwavering dedication in the selection process,” he said.

Each award category is reviewed by a distinguished panel of 14 Australian and international judges to determine the winners, and is independently audited by Ernst & Young to ensure proceedings are conducted with the greatest integrity.

Hall of Fame

This year the Institute is also proud to introduce the Australian Insurance Industry Awards

Hall of Fame – this award recognises an individual or organisation who has won a given category five times. This special award recognises those who have consistently provided great leadership, and set the standards for their customers and the industry.

The inaugural inductee into the Awards Hall of Fame this year is five time winners of Service Provider to the Insurance Industry: Finity.

Sponsors for the 2012 Australian Industry Awards include Aon, CSC, Lloyd’s, Marsh, QBE,

SSP, UAC, Wesfarmers Insurance, Finity and Wotton+Kearney.