Winners of 2009 Australia and New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards Announced

The 2009 Australia and New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards honoured the insurance industry’s best and brightest companies and individuals in front of a sold out audience of more than 700 insurance industry leaders at the Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre.

The awards, hosted by the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance (the Institute) and founding partner Asia Insurance Review (AIR), recognise outstanding achievement in the Australian and New Zealand insurance marketplace.

The winners of the 2009 Australia and New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards were:

Law Firm of the Year - Minter Ellison

Small - Medium Broker of the Year - Specialised Broking Associates (SBA)

Large Broker of the Year - Marsh

General Insurance Company of the Year - Allianz

Life Company of the Year - MLC

Loss Adjuster of the Year - McLarens Young International New Zealand

Underwriting Agency of the Year - Sportscover

Reinsurance Company of the Year - RGA

Risk Manager/Team of the Year - Paul Hurrell, IAG NZ

Service Provider of the Year - Finity

Services to the Community Award - AMI

Innovation of the Year - World Nomads

Insurance Leader of the Year - Frank O’Halloran, QBE

Australian Treasurer’s Good Governance and Practice Award - QBE

Joan Fitzpatrick, CEO of the Institute said, “I would like to congratulate the winners of the awards for their success against a strong field, congratulations are also due to the finalists in each category. This year’s submissions demonstrated that even in difficult times we have a sophisticated industry that is forward thinking and focused on innovation and customer service.”

“The participation of so many first rate organisations is what makes the awards the prestigious event they are today. The Australian Treasurer’s ongoing support of the awards, with his own award for good governance is testament to the high regard and position the event holds.”

“These awards showcase the good work of our industry and serve to highlight the dedication to professional excellence and the commitment to best practice that the insurance industry places upon itself,” she said.

Sivam Subramaniam, editor-in-chief of AIR, agreed, saying that the industry’s commitment to recognise and salute excellence was clearly overwhelming last night.

“Even in a year fraught with challenges made worse by the global financial crisis and the various natural disasters in Australia, the industry continued to trail blaze with innovation and excellence including reaching out to the wider community with a greater conscience. There was a definite commitment to boost excellence in service,” he said.

Now in their 6th year, the awards, which were emceed by radio and television personality Adam Spencer, have cemented their position as the premier insurance industry event, uniting the entire industry in celebration of outstanding achievement.

Each award category is adjudicated by a distinguished panel of 13 Australian, New Zealand and international judges to determine the winners, and independently audited by Ernst & Young to ensure proceedings are conducted with the greatest integrity.

The Institute and AIR would like to thank the sponsors for the 2009 event: Aon Australia, Zurich, SSP, Elders, Gen Re, QBE Australia, Munters, Marsh, CREATE Foundation, G1 Cellars, Lloyd’s and Kiandra.