Winners of 2008 Australia and New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards Announced

The Australia and New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards honoured the insurance industry’s best and brightest companies and individuals in front of a sold out audience of more than 700 insurance industry leaders at the Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre on Thursday 7 August.

The awards, hosted by the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance and founding partner Asia Insurance Review (AIR), recognise outstanding achievement in the Australian and New Zealand insurance marketplace.

The winners of the 2008 Australia and New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards were:

Broker of the Year - Marsh

General Insurance Company of the Year - Suncorp

Law Firm/Practitioner of the Year - Minter Ellison

Life Insurance Company of the Year - MLC

Loss Adjuster of the Year - TJ Sinclair & Associates

Reinsurance Company of the Year - Munich Re

Premium Funder of the Year - Pacific Premium Funding

Risk Practitioner/Team of the Year - Guild Risk Services

Service Provider to the Insurance Industry - Finity Consulting

Services to the Community Award - TIO

Innovation of the Year - Stream Group

Insurance Leader of the Year - Andrew Penn

The Australian Federal Treasurer, the Hon Wayne Swan MP, took the welcome step of adding a new category to the industry awards this year and, in collaboration with the Institute, established the Good Governance and Practice Award.

The award recognises an organisation that has developed practices and procedures that effectively promote the highest levels of corporate governance and social responsibility.

The winner of the 2008 Australian Treasurer’s Good Governance and Practice Award is Marsh.

Now in their 5th year, the awards, which were emceed by radio personality James O'Loghlin, have cemented their position as the premier insurance industry event, uniting the entire industry in celebration of outstanding achievement.

ANZIIF and AIR would like to thank the major sponsor A.M Best, and the award category sponsors: Aon Australia, KPMG, Swiss Re, Zurich, Elders, SSP, Gen Re, QBE Australia, Munters, FCm Travel and Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia.