Winners of 2007 Australia and New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards Announced

The Australia and New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards honoured the insurance industry’s best and brightest companies and individuals in front of a sold out audience of more than 700 insurance industry leaders at the Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre on Thursday 2 August.

The awards, hosted by the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance and founding partner Asia Insurance Review (AIR), recognise outstanding achievement in the Australian and New Zealand insurance marketplace.

The winners of the 2007 Australia and New Zealand Insurance Industry Awards were:

Broker of the Year - Aon

General Insurance Company of the Year - QBE Insurance Australia

Law Firm/Practitioner of the Year - Minter Ellison

Life Insurance Company of the Year - CommInsure

Loss Adjuster of the Year - GAB Robins New Zealand

Reinsurance Company of the Year - Munich Re

Premium Funder of the Year - Pacific Premium Funding

Risk Practitioner/Team of the Year - Guild Risk Services

Service Provider to the Insurance Industry - Finity Consulting

Services to the Community Award - Ansvar Insurance

Technological Innovation of the Year - Savant Virtual Insurer

Insurance Leader of the Year - Bob Buckley

Now in their 4th year, the awards, which were emceed by radio personality Adam Spencer, have cemented their position as the premier insurance industry event, uniting the entire industry in celebration of outstanding achievement.

Joan Fitzpatrick, CEO of the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance (ANZIIF), said, “I would like to congratulate the winners of the awards for their success against a strong field. Congratulations are also due to the finalists in each category, the calibre of the submissions this year was exemplary and competition was fierce. These awards highlight the dedication to professional excellence and the commitment to best practice that the insurance industry places upon itself.”

“Winners in each of the 12 award categories were determined by a panel of 14 judges who are highly regarded industry leaders representing all sectors of the industry. The judging process required them to consider and rank each application against established criteria to decide the winners. PriceWaterhouse Coopers then independently audited the process to ensure its rigour and transparency,” Ms Fitzpatrick said.

Sivam Subramaniam, editor-in-chief of AIR, agreed, saying that the commitment of the industry to recognise and salute excellence was clearly evident from the sell-out attendance for the Awards Dinner.

“The insurance industry can be supremely proud, publicly acknowledging its solid commitment to quality and professionalism," he said.

ANZIIF and AIR would like to thank the award sponsors, including: Aon, KPMG, Zurich, Elders, SSP incorporating Sirius Financial Systems, Marsh, Brennan IT, Gen Re, Red Planet, Swiss Re, IBM and Audi.